Skip to content
May 30, 2014 / @smirk_ninja

Day 19 of #30DayTrial and a recommendation

First the boring stuff – No update in the experiment. It’s going on with the expected number of commitment breaking.

Now the interesting stuff. I thought I’d ask for recommendations on what to write. Spruce up the brain a bit. So out of the millions and millions of recommendations and desperate pleas I got (you can’t see them because they’re in imaginary mode) I decided to listen to @bitemyboots (cute, isn’t she?)

Her recommendation is – “How to avoid over thinking”

Before I start, let me wipe the silly grin off my face first.

Ah, done.

Way back in October 2013, I was going through what I can personally call life’s worst tragedy number 2. This is right next to world’s greatest tragedy number 1 (Jessica Alba getting married) 

On a serious note, this was a bout of what I now call “work stress related depression”. This gets triggered when you’ve been working your ass off, with no personal life to balance it, and are not reaping the benefits of aforementioned hard work. You feel tired, broken and frustrated. Some people yell or crib it out, others cry it out, some just bottle it up. This usually happens in phases and people experience it at some point or the other. Usually it phases out. Mine didn’t. 

The reason am giving you this background, is that what I’ve learnt and been taught, and have read, works. Over thinking, or thinking ahead or “assumption” to put it simply is a killer. The Human mind is a magnificent thing, built to protect and serve your interests of survival more than any other thing. It will make you think and push you to avoid complications, by throwing a million doubts in your way. What we call over thinking, is sometimes, if you really sit and write down the logic for it, is basically bull shit.

I used to be very worried whenever I had to speak to a superior. My assumption was that they didn’t like me. That arose because one time I goofed up and I got yelled it (they call it feedback) Ever since, every step I took was an over think. I’d think a 100 times even to send out a thank you mail. What if they think am being a smart ass. What if they make fun of me. What if the others get pissed off. What if I make a spelling mistake. What if they’re busy and this disturbs them and ….you know. Over thinking. Assumptions.

One day I sat down and made a list of all these thoughts. And then against them I wrote the real truth. Most of the times, none of these thoughts had any basis whatsoever. None. You’ll be surprised to see it’s a fake wall of thoughts that just cloud your mind.

Here’s another example. Lets say you like someone. Chances her you asked her out and she said no. Now there are two ways you could read it, You’d say “meh” (or “peh” if you were me) and move on. Or you’d think oh shit doesn’t like me. She tell everyone I asked her out. Everyone will laugh at me. I can never ask another girl out. Shit.

In all probability, you caught her off guard. But your mind has already jumped a thousand steps ahead.

So to sum it up. Reign your thoughts in. You have to make a conscience effort to keep a track of your thoughts. Your mind is designed to make you run away from potential harm. But don’t let it cloud your judgement. Sit down, put all your thoughts onto a piece of paper, and then ask yourself honestly if they have any logic or truth to it.

The answers will surprise and liberate you. Welcome to my world 🙂

 

SN 

 

 

 

Leave a comment